If you get caught driving under the influence in Missouri, you could end up with more than just a traffic ticket or fine. Driving under the influence in Missouri is a significant offense that can have serious implications on your life as well as your permanent driving record. When you commit driving offenses in the state of Missouri, points are added to your driving record causing your license to be suspended or revoked. In Missouring, the law of “implied consent” is in full force- basically owning a driver’s license automatically gives your consent to be tested for alcohol or other substances while driving. Different driving offenses merit different points and the time in which driving offenses occur is an important factor to the suspension of your driver’s license. If you find yourself involved in a DUI/DWI or other traffic infraction it is important to get a traffic ticket attorney as soon as possible. Lawyers are available to help you keep points off of your record and give you the best advice in these situations. Below you will find more information about how the point system works and how it affects your driving record in the state of Missouri.
How It Works
The point system in Missouri works a lot like golf-the less points you have the better. More points equals license suspension for longer periods of time and even permanently. So how does it work? Each violation comes with a designated number of points (8 for DWI and DUI offenses) that are then added to your record. Driving offenses that will result impossible driving suspension and points include, but are not limited to:
- Speeding and reckless/careless driving.
- Violating insurance laws
- DUI/DWI offenses and refusal to take a BAC test
Points are then added by the severity of your driving violation.
- 2 points for careless driving
- 3 points for excessive speeding
- 4 points for driving without a license or permit
- 8 points for a DUI/DWI
- 12 points for driving with a suspended or revoked license
If you are 21 years and older and caught with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) equal to or higher than the 0.08% limit you can expect the following administrative and/or criminal to be placed against you:
The First DUI/DWI Offense
Treated as a Class B Misdemeanor, your first offense could result in up to six months in the big house and fines up to $500. If you accumulate more than 8 points within 18 months your suspension period will look like this:
- 1st suspension – 30 days
- 2nd suspension – 60 days
- 3rd suspension – 90 days
The Second DUI/DWI Offense
“Prior Offender” or two offenses within a five year period will be treated as Class A Misdemeanors and can result in imprisonment for up to a year and/or a $1000 fine. In addition to these administrative actions your license will be revoked. According to the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver’s licenses can be revoked for a year or more if you accumulate:
- 12 points or more within 12 months
- 18 points or more within 24 months
- 24 points or more within 36 months
You can find more information on what to expect after more than two offenses, here.
Do The Points Ever Go Away?
As humans, we make mistakes now and then. So you may be wondering if these points stay with you for the rest of your life. The simple answer is no, over time the points are reduced, but some violations do stay on your permanent driving record-even if the points are long since gone.
If you do find yourself facing criminal prosecution for being involved in DWI/DUI or other driving infraction, exercise your right to an attorney as soon as possible, so you can avoid permanent damage to your driving record. If you live in Missouri, violations can stay on your record for at least three years after you have finished paying your fine. Depending on the type of infraction on your record, the violations could stay on your record for longer. For instance, failure to maintain proper insurance could result in a permanent violation on your record.